A link to the Sussex website showing the full Home/Away Interleague record for Billingshurst can be found HERE.

Season 2013/14 - a blow-by-blow account of the last year played.........

Series 1: Billingshurst had a bye in this series.

Series 2: Brighton C hosting Billingshurst at the Blue Anchor was the only match played in Division 3, with the visitors emerging as 4-3 winners in a close match. Brian Muggeridge put the home team in front but wins forTony Temple (5,680) and Peter Hartley gave the visitors the lead. Steve Hurley (8,880) levelled the match only for Steve Eely (7,210) to put the visitors back in front again. Sheena Wood forced the decider which Barry Dumbrill won for the visitors.

Series 3: Billingshurst move up to second place in Division 3 after a close 4-3 home win over leaders Lewes at the Limeburners. Jan Bithell (6,030) gave the visitors a good start only for Ding Johnson and Mark Davies to win the next two games to give the home team the lead. Dave Knight and Chase Newman (6,200) put the visitors back in front but Mick Johnson forced the decider which Chip Sawyer(9,910) won with the highest score of the game.

Series 4: Billingshurst remain top of Division 3 and are now the only unbeaten team in the competition after a 4-3 win away to Worthing C at the Smugglers. Colin Green put the home team in front but good wins for Pete Hartley (6,650) and Steve Eely (6,610) gave the visitors the lead. Pete Brown (9,370) levelled the match but Mark Davies and Barry Dumbrill (5,130) made sure of the win for the visitors leaving Pete Hickman to win a close last game in consolation for the home side.

Series 5: In Division 3, Billingshurst suffered a 3-4 reversal at home to Mid-Sussex B despite wins from Mick Johnson, Steve Eely (4500) and Ding Johnson.

Ser 6…. Billingshurst slipped down to third place after having a bye in this series of matches, but have a game in hand over both of the teams above them.

Ser 7… Billingshurst maintain their challenge at the top with a 4-3 home win over Brighton C at the Limeburners. Mick Pope (8,120) put the visitors in front but Sam Short hit back to record her first ever Inter League win to level the match. Brian Muggeridge (6,840) and Steve Hurley won the next two games to put the visitors on the brink of victory but Barry Dumbrill won a vital leg against the break and with Brighton C one player short, James Childs took the Bye which left Steve Eely (6,020) to take the victory for the home team.

Ser 8…. Lewes moved clear at the top of Division 3 after a 6-1 home win over nearest rivals Billingshurst at the Plough, Plumpton. Darren Newnham put the home team in front and wins for Richard Todd, Kevin Stoner (5,170) and Jan Bithell (7.650) quickly swept them to victory. Ding Johnson pulled a consolation leg back for the visitors but Dave Knight and Chase Newman (7,830) won the last two games for Lewes to complete a good evening for them.

Ser 9: Billingshurst lost their chance of promotion from Inter League Division 3 after losing 5-2 at home to Worthing C in their re-arranged match at the Limeburners.  Pete Brown gave the visitors a great start and Colin Green and JamesWhittle quickly swept them into a 3-0 lead.  Steve Eely pulled a leg back for the home team but wins for Brian Bartram (6,870) and Dave Jones took the points leaving Chip Sawyer (6,930) to hit the best score of the night in consolation for the home team.  This result meant that Worthing C now move up into 2nd place in the table and are now the only team that could possibly catch leaders Lewes, who only need to win 1 leg of their final match to secure promotion.

Ser 10: Billingshurst made sure of the runners-up spot after a 5-2 away win against Mid-Sussex B at United Services Club.  Mick Johnson put the visitors in front only for Richard Spurrier (6,050) to level the match, Pete Hartley (3,650) gave the visitors the lead again only for Paul Jobbins to make it all square before wins for Mark Davies and Keith Newman made sure of the points leaving Ding Johnson to add the icing to the cake in the final game for Billingshurst.    - Dave Ingram, SCBBA

Home/Away Interleague Record (Billingshurst players' extract) 65) 1971-1980 66) 1980-2000 67) 2000-14

Billingshurst’s SCBBA Interleague Honours in the last 50 years.

Division One Winners, Home & Away competition: 1967/68, 1968/69, 1975/76 & 1976/77 (Runners-up in 1981/82)

Division Two Runners-up : 1983/84 (‘B’team); 2002/03 & 2009/10

Division Three Winners: 1997/98 & 2008/09 (Runners-up in 2004/05, 2006/07 & 2013/14)

Division One Runners-up, One-Day event: 1992/93

Division Two Winners, One-Day event: 2003/04 (Runners-up in 2001/02, 2002/03, 2006/07 & 2011/12)

Runners-up,One-Day event for B/C teams: 1999/2000 (‘B’team)

Ladies’ competition Winners : 1972/73 & 1973/74 (Runners-up in 1981/82)


A link to the Sussex website showing the full One-Day Interleague record for Billingshurst can be found HERE.

2000 saw the advent of a bespoke annual One-Day competition specifically for B,C and D teams. Billingshurst decided to raise a special B side for the occasion to take part in this, at the Downview, Worthing, to honour the memory of Ray Burchell, who had recently been lost to cancer. The team performed well on the day, topping their group but succumbing to the strong Worthing B in the Final.

In recent years, the 'A' team have never quite matched their glory days of the 1970s, but have proved themselves a force to be reckoned with in the Second Division, managing Runners-up spot four times (in 2002, 2003, 2007 and 2012), and winning the Division in 2004.

One-Day Interleague Record (Billingshurst players' extract) 68) 1990-1999 69) 2000-2018 - and 70) Ladies Interleague (both systems)